The academic programme of five years is divided into a senior phase consisting of Grade 8 and 9, and an FET phase consisting of Grades 10, 11 and 12. The possibility exists for learners to exit from the school at the end of the senior phase to proceed to institutions that offer vocationally and skills orientated training.

In the senior phase all learners follow the same syllabus and write the same examinations. The introduction of the new Curriculum Assessment Policy Statement (CAPS) for implementation in 2014 has reverted back to the emphasis on content-based academic studies in eight areas of learning each with a common core of academic activities. More recently the learning process has undergone a further shift towards the accumulation of knowledge and the use of knowledge to strengthen academic attitudes and skills.

While subject content remains an essential component of educational activities, the content is now being used to enable learners to feel confident in using the content to seek out relationships between different areas of learning to allow learners to present content in more interesting ways and make them independent searchers and researchers so that they develop study habits which will enable them to travel confidently on the path of life long learning.

The Further Education and Training (FET) band also follows the CAPS which commenced in 2012. A learner has to offer 7 subjects from different learning areas. Four subjects are compulsory: a home language (English), an additional official language (Afrikaans or sePedi), Mathematics or Mathematical Literacy and Life Orientation. The other three subjects are chosen from the following: Physical Science, Life Sciences, Information Technology, Computer Applications Technology (CAT), Geography, History, Accounting, Business Studies, Consumer Studies, Visual Art and Tourism.

Departments

The academic programme of five years is divided into a senior phase consisting of Grade 8 and 9, and an FET phase consisting of Grades 10, 11 and 12. The possibility exists for learners to exit from the school at the end of the senior phase to proceed to institutions that offer vocationally and skills orientated training.

In the senior phase all learners follow the same syllabus and write the same examinations. The introduction of the new Curriculum Assessment Policy Statement (CAPS) for implementation in 2014 has reverted back to the emphasis on content-based academic studies in eight areas of learning each with a common core of academic activities. More recently the learning process has undergone a further shift towards the accumulation of knowledge and the use of knowledge to strengthen academic attitudes and skills.

While subject content remains an essential component of educational activities, the content is now being used to enable learners to feel confident in using the content to seek out relationships between different areas of learning to allow learners to present content in more interesting ways and make them independent searchers and researchers so that they develop study habits which will enable them to travel confidently on the path of life long learning.

The Further Education and Training (FET) band also follows the CAPS which commenced in 2012. A learner has to offer 7 subjects from different learning areas. Four subjects are compulsory: a home language (English), an additional official language (Afrikaans or sePedi), Mathematics or Mathematical Literacy and Life Orientation. The other three subjects are chosen from the following: Physical Science, Life Sciences, Information Technology, Computer Applications Technology (CAT), Geography, History, Accounting, Business Studies, Consumer Studies, Visual Art and Tourism.

Heads Of Department / Tutors

SubjectHead of Department / TutorEmail Contact
EnglishMrs K. Govendergovender.k@theglenhighschool.co.za
AfrikaansMrs E. Eksteenelma.eksteen.@theglenhighschool.co.za
MathematicsMr K Molapisanekholo.molapisane@gmail.co.za
Tourism / Life OrientationMr C Hanyanehanyane.c@theglenhighschool.co.za
Information Technology and CATMrs G. Van Dijkgvndijk@theglenhighschool.co.za
Economic SciencesMrs C. Saaymansaayman.c@theglenhighschool.co.za
Life ScienceMr P. Minnieminnie.p@theglenhighschool.co.za
Physical ScienceMrs R. Harrisharris.r@theglenhighschool.co.za
Visual ArtsMrs E. Viljoenviljoen.e@theglenhighschool.co.za
Social SciencesMr S. Windelhistory@theglenhighschool.co.za
Technology / Consumer ScienceMs J. Phashaphasha.j@theglenhighschool.co.za
Gr 8 TutorMrs T Verwey
Mr T Lebetle
tverwey117@gmail.com
tumelolebetle@hotmail.com
Gr 9 TutorsMrs G van Dijk
Mrs M Farmer
gvndijk@theglenhighschool.co.za`
maigan.farmer1512@gmail.com
Gr 10 TutorsMr S Sibiya
Ms C Crawford
sibiya.s@theglenhighschool.co.za
crawford39@gmail.com
Gr 11 TutorsMr S Pretorius
Mrs S Palic
pretorius.s@theglenhighschool.co.za
snpalic@gmail.com
Gr 12 TutorsMrs R Harris
Mrs C Saayman
reneharris2012@gmail.com
saayman.c@theglenhighschool.co.za