FET Phase: Grade 10,11,12

Subject Choices

1. Compulsory Subjects

Compulsory Subject 1 Compulsory Subject 2 Compulsory Subject 3 Compulsory Subject 4
English Afrikaans or Sepedi or isiZulu Maths or Maths Literacy Life Orientation

Immigrant Learners

Immigrants need to choose a 7th subject instead of Afrikaans, Sepedi or isiZulu

2. Choose 3 other subjects from the following groups

Group 1 Group 2 Group 3
Physical Science History History
Life Science Geography Geography
Computer Application Technology (CAT) Accounting Accounting
Business Studies Life Sciences Consumer Studies
Tourism Visual Arts
Business Studies
Information Technology (IT)

Senior Phase: Grade 8 & 9

The eight areas of learning are the following:

  1. Language Literacy and Communication (English and Afrikaans/Sepedi)
  2. Human and Social Sciences
  3. Technology
  4. Mathematics
  5. Natural Sciences
  6. Creative Arts
  7. Economics and Management Science
  8. Life Orientation

The first seven learning areas will each draw on the content of the traditionally known subjects like English, Afrikaans, Mathematics, Consumer Studies, Physical Science, Life Sciences, Art, Drama, Music and Accounting. Life Orientation will include religious education, vocational guidance, general guidance and physical activities. Provision will be made for additional subjects.

Progress reports will be based on the continuous assessment of the pupil and will move away from reflecting solely on content accumulation and give greater clarity on study habits and attitudes and how successful the pupil has been in coping with the requirements of modern life and the modern educational system.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.